Brève histoire des musiques actuelles

Collection :

Documents Series

Editor(s) :

Hans Ulrich Obrist

Author(s) :

Hans Ulrich Obrist

Cover type :


Dimensions :

150 x 210 mm

Pages :


Price :

CHF27 / €20 / £15 / $29.95


Editions :


Publication :

April 2021

Order from :

No ordering options for now. Please contact us

An anthology on new musical forms in the 20th century

High Quality Art

Worldwide Shipping

Dealing with care

Secure payment

SKU: 9783037641903-1 Categories: , ,

An anthology on new musical forms in the 20th century

French edition of the acclaimed volume A Brief History of New Music.

Following the success of A Brief History of Curating (now available in nine different languages, in its ninth reprint, and as an e-book), this publication gathers together interviews with pioneering musicians of the 1950s to the 1980s. The book thus brings together avant-garde composers such as Elliott Carter, Pierre Boulez, George Benjamin, and Karlheinz Stockhausen; originators of electro-acoustic music such as François Bayle, Pauline Oliveros, Iannis Xenakis, Robert Ashley, Eliane Radigue, and Peter Zinovieff; Minimalist and Fluxus-inspired artists such as Tony Conrad, Phill Niblock, Yoko Ono, Steve Reich, and Terry Riley; as well as figures such as Brian Eno, Kraftwerk, Arto Lindsay, and Caetano Veloso. Their contributions map the evolution of the musical field, from early experiments in concrete and abstract music, to the electronic development and the hybridization between Pop and avant-garde culture.

Hans Ulrich Obrist (*May 1968) joined the Serpentine Gallery (London) as Co-Director of International Exhibitions and Programmes and Director of International Projects in 2006.

The book is part of the Documents series, co-published with Les presses du réel and dedicated to critical writings.