This Is the End

Collection :

Monographs & Artists’ Books

Editor(s) :


Author(s) :

Adrian ShaughnessyAlexis BernierYorgo Tloupas

Cover type :


Dimensions :

270 x 270 mm

Pages :


Pictures :

194 colors and 107 b/w

Price :

CHF58 / €38 / £25 / $55


Editions :


Publication :

January 2009

Order from :

Europe North America U.K.

Cover art

High Quality Art

Worldwide Shipping

Dealing with care

Secure payment

SKU: 9783037640111 Categories: ,

Cover art

Since the mid-1990s, H5 have realized numerous record covers and visuals for both small labels and majors (Sony, V2, BMG, Naïve, Virgin, Source, Solid, Record Makers, Pamplemousse, Missive, La Fondation, Denote Ltd, 20000ST, Small, EMI, Prototyp Record, Diamond Traxx, Choice, Born to Kill, Island), thus accompanying the development of French electronic music—what the British critics called the “French Touch.” Ludovic Houplain and Antoine Bardou-Jacquet (H5’s founders, soon joined by Hervé de Crécy) started by making sleeves for their friends Etienne de Crécy and Alex Gopher, using typography rather than photographs and an economical two-color aesthetic—which finds one of its most striking examples in the “Superdiscount” cover for Etienne de Crécy. Their video clip for “The Child” by Alex Gopher, a typographic animation, soon became a reference of this new style and led to their collaboration with Röyksopp, Goldfrapp, or Massive Attack. Advertising contracts for brands such as Audi, Volkswagen, Dior, or Yves Saint Laurent came in the 2000s and allowed the company to continue growing while working their most ambitious project to date, “Logorama,” a short film entirely built with existing logos and characters associated with a brand, due to be released on the next Cannes Film Festival.

The book focuses on their work for the music industry, especially with bands associated with the “French Touch.” It includes their major realizations in the field as well as several essays and an interview discussing their work politics and aesthetic breakthrough. It comes with an original record, released on this occasion by musicians Alex Gopher, Air, and de Crécy & Darkel.

French edition by B42, Paris.